pillars of islam

The Five Pillars of Islam

When we talk about the religion of mannerist culture, the majority of us stumble upon Islam- the religion of Peace. Islam is an Abrahamic monotheistic religion teaching that Muhammad is a messenger of God. It is the second-largest religion in the world with 1.9 billion followers or holds 24.9% of the world’s population. But do you know that this monotheistic religion aims to live life with full submission to the Almighty Allah? This belief in monotheistic is the basic cornerstone of Islam.

Even more, the interesting factor about Islam is its five pillars of obligations. Just like the pillars of Hinduism, the pillars of Islam also describe the basic virtues of life. It’s an obligation that all its followers are asked to fulfill throughout life. This lifestyle of Muslims is an interesting factor to understand the ethics of this religion.

What are the five pillars of Islam?

One of the substantial beliefs in Islamic antiquity is that the Five Pillars of Islam were already propped and placed during the time of the Prophet’s death in 632 C.E.


Shahadah means faith in god. It means that all Muslims must have complete faith in Allah and that all the messengers were sent by god. Shahadah also emphasizes the faith of the last prophet Muhammad SWT. It lies in the center of Islam as the monotheistic belief revolves around the Shahasah itself.  The declaration goes as-

lā ʾilāha ʾillā –llāh,

muḥammadun rasūlu –llāhi

(There is no other deity than god and Muhammad is the messenger of God.)


Salah refers to the prayer (Namaz). The Namaz is a very important aspect of Islam, with the respect to its attributes, facing the direction of Qibla is important, people pray in combination to standing, kneeling, and later sitting on the ground reciting Quran with complete faith. They bow to Allah as a prostrate of their faith in its existence.

In Islam, there are five basic prayers of the day with go correspondence to the Azaan- Fajr, Zuhar, Asar, Maghrib, and Isha. There two special prayers that are the Friday prayers and the Eid namaz.


Zakat means almsgiving, a beautiful act for a charitable cause. Just like any other religion on the planet, the practice of almsgiving is quite profound to be obligated. Providing amenities to the needy is considered the closest act to God. It is said to purify one’s soul as well as their wealth over and over. Zakat is based on one’s income and the value of their property. The common form is calculated by 2.5% of the total wealth that is 1/40 of the yearly income of the person. However, if the person’s wealth or income is below the threshold of survival, he or she is not obligated to give Zakat.

Sawm (Roza)

Swan means fasting in Islam. Well, fasting in this religion is especially strenuous yet the follower remains calm and composts throughout. The holy month of Ramadan holds a lot of importance when it comes to sawm, Muslims are required to fast for one month. During this month, every person is asked to give up any type of materialistic greed and completely focus on the aesthetics of Islam. The main purpose of keeping fast is self-restraint, sanctity, and generosity towards others.


Hajj refers to the annual pilgrimage in Islam. Similar to Hinduism, pilgrimage is an important aspect of this monotheistic religion. The pilgrimage site is located in the Islamic holy city Mecca, Saudi Arabia. Every Muslim who is wealthy enough to perform Hajj is obligated to fulfill this religious duty. It is considered a solidarity act and submission towards Allah. Hajj is performed in Dhu al-Hijjah, the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar. Along with Hajj, Muslims may also undertake an Umrah, a lesser pilgrimage to Mecca at other times of the year.  

pillars of islam

In essence, these five pillars describe the roles and responsibilities of a Muslim. While there is no specific order to fulfilling these pillars, the role of individual fulfillment is very sacred. Each pillar has its own time, commitment, and guidelines with respect to its subordinate pillars. Even though people are requested to fulfill them, not many are bounded, for instance, people suffering from ill health, menstruation or pregnancy and financial constraint are free to take a break.

When we take a closer look at the pillars of Islam, one may find a striking resemblance to the pillars of Hinduism. Though they differ by names and characteristics, their essence remains the same. It all describes the basic aesthetics of life, how one should lead one life with solidarity towards humanity and kindness. Thus, it can be concluded that all the ethos of all religions is the same; it only differs by denomination and Anatomy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *